Skip navigation.
Home | About Us | Contact Us
Rick Scott, Governor
Florida Department of Corrections, Secretary Julie L. Jones

Florida Department of Corrections
Julie L. Jones, Secretary

Prisons

Youthful Offenders

Youthful Offender Population (YO) on June 30, 2016
Location Department Designated
Youthful Offenders
(F.S. 958.11(4))
Inmates with
emotional/physical vulnerability
(F.S. 958.11(6))
Court Ordered
Youthful Offenders
(F.S. 958.04(1))
Total Population
Central Florida Reception Center-Main 6 - 29 35
Florida Women's Reception Center 1 - - 1
Lake City Correctional Facility (Private) 342 1 530 873
Lancaster CI 1 - - 1
Lowell CI 50 1 21 72
Lowell WC 13 - 1 14
North West Florida Reception Center-Annex 2 - 3 5
Reception and Medical Center-Main Unit 24 - 24 48
South Florida Reception Center 20 - 11 31
Sumter CI 66 1 70 137
Sumter Annex 22 - 31 53
Sumter Basic Training Unit 29 - 15 44
Suwannee CI 18 1 27 46
Work Release Centers 43 - 43 86
All Other Facilities 26 - 10 36
Total 663 4 815 1,482

Section 958.04, F.S., authorizes the court to sentence as a youthful offender any person:

  • Who is at least 18 years of age or who has been transferred for prosecution to the criminal division of the circuit court pursuant to chapter 985;
  • Who is found guilty of or who has tendered, and the court has accepted, a plea of nolo contendere or guilty to a crime that is, under the laws of this state, a felony if the offender is younger than 21 years of age at the time sentence is imposed;
  • Who has not previously been classified as a youthful offender under the provisions of this act; and Who has not been found guilty of a capital or life felony.

Section 958.11(4), F.S., authorizes the DC to classify as a youthful offender any person:

  • Who is at least 18 years of age or who has been transferred for prosecution to the criminal division of the circuit court pursuant to chapter 985;
  • Who has not previously been classified as a youthful offender under the provisions of this act;
  • Who has not been found guilty of a capital or life felony;
  • Whose age does not exceed 24 years; and
  • Whose total length of sentence does not exceed 10 years.

In addition to the above, s. 958.11(6), F.S., authorizes the Department to assign inmates 19 or younger (except capital or life felons) to youthful offender facilities if the Department determines that the inmate's mental or physical vulnerability would substantially or materially jeopardize his or her safety in a non-youthful offender facility.

Section 944.1905(5)(a), F.S., mandates that the Department assign any inmate under 18 not meeting the provisions of chapter 958 to a youthful offender facility. Such inmates are assigned to youthful offender facilities until at least age 18, but may remain assigned until age 21 if the Department determines that continued assignment is in the best interests of the inmate and the assignment does not pose an unreasonable risk to other inmates in the facility.



Privacy Policy | Accessibility